ARCHIVE: 2 January 2011

Here it is- the Hawaiian Haul. First off, I’d like to make something clear to all you who are not familiar with haul videos, posts, etc: These posts are made to “show off” or anything, they’re made to inform the reader/viewer about products and items the author likes. Now that we have that, I’ll start!

I found this awesome store called “Mahina.” They have four locations in Hawaii and their clothes are adorable and very reasonably priced. Unfortunately, they don’t have an online shop, but I’ll link you to their website. I kind of went nuts there. Think… Topshop, but cheaper.

This first dress is leopard (?) print. It’s very flowy and has a zipper down the front. It’s so comfortable- it feels like I’m wearing pajamas! Very cute, kind of short, but a great party dress. I wore it to the New Year’s party I went to. (To see how I did my makeup, click here.) This was $46.

I’m obsessed with this dress. (Or perhaps it should be called a tunic…?) Either way, it’s amazing. The print is fabulous and matches up throughout the fabric. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, take a piece of really cheap clothing and really expensive clothing and compare it. You’ll probably notice that where that the pattern matches up on each side of the seam on the expensive clothing, whereas the cheap clothing’s pattern does not. I was so excited to get this. It was the first thing I bought at the store. I got it for $22!

So this is my prom dress. :) It’s very simple. The picture doesn’t do it justice. It’s mainly cotton. At the top is a rosette-ish center and then it just flows down at the bottom. It doesn’t wrinkle, which is great and it’s very long so I can find the perfect heels. I will of course, glam this up! It’s a halter but I didn’t really feel like showing that on here. By the way- while I’m looking at this photo I’m just going to say pardon the nastiness in the background. I just got home two days ago and I’m still trying to clean up the mess that has taken over my home! Ready for the best part? Prom dress: $42.

The last thing I bought at Mahina is the shirt! You can’t see it very well in the picture, but there is a little tie in the front and even though I thought it was going to look gross, it’s actually really cute! The print is adorable and unique and the fabric is silky. The sleeves are a little above three quarter length. I’m going to be wearing this to school on Tuesday, so I’ll do a post edit and post how it looks on because it’s different. When I saw this I immediately was like, “BUYING!” Haha it’s just very cute and I actually need tops. My closet consists of a lot of cardigans and dresses. This cute little shirt was only $29.

The next store was at the Lahaina Cannery Mall and is called “Jeans Warehouse.” (Click here for their website.) I flipped out when I saw the prices on the clothes and accessories. There were a good five or six racks that had a sign on it- my favorite sign EVER- “75% clearance price!” I ran into the store skipping because that is the best deal basically ever. Their clothes were kind of cheap and quite a few had rips, which was disappointing, but I’m very happy with what I got.

This dress is really cute. It has a cheap feeling, but I really don’t care that much. The top is not lace, but a print meant to look like lace. There’s a black band in the middle and the bottom skirt part is jean. Ready for the price? $2. Like a boss.

I wanted to just post a picture of the hat, but it looked really weird when I tried to take a picture of it by itself, so you get me and a hat. I really don’t know what these hats are called- I should probably figure that out. They’re beret-like. Rachel and I call them “saggy hats.” This one is knit and cream colored. Got it for a $1 because I win at shopping ahahha.

I bought quite a few items at a store in my hotel which I don’t know the name of. If you’re wondering, and wish to find out the store named, I was staying at the Hyatt Regency Maui.

These are all NYX brand. I’ll talk about them in the order they are above. The first one is a chrome eyeshadow in “lilac.” The second is a sparkly mascara, which I really liked! I used that on New Year’s Eve as well. The third is a lip liner in the color, Y2K. I doubt I’ll use it as a lip liner because it’s very dark, but I’m probably going to use it for my eyes. Next, I bought a lipstick. I love the color. It’s like an icy lavender color. It’ll be great for a highlight to an outfit. The last three items? GLITTER. I’m actually obsessed with glitter. I buy it whenever I see it. I’m just in love with it. The colors in order are: Unknown, (Sorry!) GP01, and GP03.

The last thing I got were some earrings from the local craft fair.






These ranged in price from $1-$5.

That’s all I really am going to talk about right now because I need to do some homework. I got a few other items, some rings, hair things, etc. but these were the things I thought I should mention. The earrings are FANTASTIC. I love them.
Oh, and here’s a pic of me on New Year’s, as well as some of my henna tattoos I got in Hawaii:


This one is just a regular type of henna tattoo. It took about fifteen minutes and cost $20.

I’m obsessed with this. It’s the dark mark from Harry Potter.
So legit. This one was also $20.
The guy also taught me how to make henna! So I’ll be experimenting with that soon.
For those of you who don’t know what henna is- It’s a natural way to dye your skin. (or hair) It’s made of henna leaf, tea tree oil, coffee, and lemon juice. It’s very natural and isn’t bad for your skin. It goes on a really dark muddy color and it’s dries up after absorbing your skin’s moisture and cracks off. You’re left with an orangey design and the next day it turns the brown color mine are now. The hands and the feet will come out the darkest. It lasts 1-2 weeks depending on where it is, the quality of the henna, the thickness, and how well you take care of it. Henna will last longer out of sunlight and water.

Leave a Reply

