Emmy Roundup

Hey guys! I know I’m a bit late to get to this, but this was a post I really wanted to do, so even though it’s kind of late, I’m over it. Here’s my Emmy roundup and my best and worst dressed! The Emmy’s were on 23 September. My Halloween vids will start coming up very soon! ;) Much love xx

All pictures are from The Hollywood Reporter.

Best Dressed

Photobucket

Giuliana Rancic in Romona Keveza
I’m a firm believer that Giuliana looks flawless all the time. I love 99.9% of her outfits and she is one of my favourite reporters. This gown is gorgeous and flatters her shape. I love the cut at the top from the bust and the slight train with the dramatic slip is such a contrast that it just pulls the dress all together. The laced up looking heels look great, and the belt shows Giuliana’s small shape.

Photobucket

Ginnifer Goodwin in Monique Lhullier
I absolutely love this dress. It’s so beautiful and so perfect. I think it’s fitting for Ginnifer Goodwin because it seems to be a bit of a fairytale looking dress and she’s at the Emmy’s for her work on the show “Once Upon A Time.” (Which is on my Netflix queue…) Besides the dress being fabulous, the shoes are gorgeous. I want them in my collection immediately.

Photobucket

Shannon Woodward in Gabriela Cadena
I’m a huge Shannon Woodward fan. She’s best friends with Katy Perry and I started following Shannon’s career because of Katy. If you don’t follow Shannon Woodward on Twitter, you’re missing out. She has some of the funniest tweets around. This dress is gorgeous and channels old Hollywood, a look that I never tire of seeing- as long as it’s done right. And Shannon Woodward pulls it off perfectly, with the soft waves topping off the beautiful dress.

Photobucket

Kate Mara in Badgley Mischka
I’m convinced that Kate Mara is one of the most beautiful people on the face of the Earth and this only convinces me of that more. Her pale skin looks perfect with this pale dress, which looks to have flakes of gold or some sort of leaf scattered about. The colour is perfect and I love the train and the fact that the design of the gown gives the train a shape. The only thing I would change is her hair, I’d love to see it up or with more volume.

Photobucket

Tina Fey in Vivienne Westwood
Tina Fey is one of my idols, I look up to her a lot, and though she wasn’t doing too well when she first started coming onto the red carpet, each award show it seems that she gets better and better. She hit the jackpot this time. The curve of the bustline flatters her very well and you can see her tiny waist because of this being perfectly tailored to fit her body. Good work, Tina.

Photobucket

Zooey Deschanel in Reem Acra
I look up to Zooey Deschanel for a lot of style inspiration and I’m a huge fan of hers and I also am a huge fan of Emily Deschanel, her sister. (If you don’t watch Bones, you should check it out immediately. It’s on Netflix, I promise.) This gown is beautiful and Zooey always looks great in blue because it brings out her eyes. In (500) Days of Summer, she is constantly wearing blue and is the only character in the film to wear blue, a choice by the costume designer. (Fun fact: 500DOS is my favourite movie of all time.)
Anywho, I’m a sucker for a tulle-heavy, princess gown. (See: My prom dress.)

Photobucket

Julianne Hough in Georges Hobeika
I’m sitting here drooling over this dress. I could stare at it all day. When I first saw this dress, I thought that it looked like something that could either go terribly wrong or terribly right, and I’m so glad it went in the right direction. The attention to detail in the dress is what makes it special and Julianne Hough looks good in just about anything.

Photobucket

Emilia Clarke in Chanel
To be honest, I have no idea who this girl is. I think she might be in Game of Thrones? (Another in my Netflix queue…) However, I love this dress and this look. I’m a huge Chanel fan and I love the intricate dark purple design with the contrasting bright white. The cut is fantastic and the nude heels don’t take away from the dress. I love her hairstyle and makeup choices.

Worst Dressed

Photobucket

Kat Dennings in J. Mendel
T
o be completely honest with you guys, I cannot stand Kat Dennings. However, that’s not the reason she’s on my worst dressed list. This dress is great, but with her chest size, it just doesn’t work. Her boobs take away from the dress and it doesn’t seem like she has anything else to offer. Even so, if she still wanted to wear the dress, she could, but she should add a necklace instead of having so much bare space. I also can’t stand the lip colour and how it doesn’t go with the dress at all. She does a red lip at almost everything, and I can appreciate a good red lip, but it doesn’t look good with the burnt orange colour of this dress.

Photobucket

Mayim Bialik in Pamella Roland
Aw, I love Mayim. I’m a huge Big Bang fan. She was actually on What Not To Wear a few years ago, before she came back into the spotlight. However, she just looks like she’s drowning in this dress. You can’t see her figure at all and there’s no skin being shown. It’s fine if she wants a more modest look, but there are ways to do that without looking like you put on a King sized sheet from your bed.

Photobucket

Connie Britton (I couldn’t find the dress designer, my apologies)
Oh, Connie! I think she is one of the most gorgeous women, especially for her age, but nothing about this dress does her justice. First off, her pose in this picture is awkwardly. Secondly, the dress doesn’t fit her properly, it’s too tight in her stomach and hips and too loose around her chest. Her bra (or it seems lack thereof) is not holding up her breasts and it shows. Her hair is pulled back the way you would see some hopeless junior high girl do their hair. I can’t believe it, because I’m actually normally extremely jealous of her flawless hair, but as I look as this picture I’m thankful for my turquoise locks.

Photobucket

Sofia Vergara in Zuhair Murad
First off, I’m sick of Sofia Vergara being EVERYWHERE. Secondly, this looks like a pageant dress. This is the Emmy’s, not Miss Universe.

Photobucket

Julianna Margulies in Giambattista Valli
Okay, this was a really hard one to figure out where to place. I LOVE this dress and think it’s absolutely gorgeous, but I think the Emmy’s were the wrong choice to wear this dress. It’s extremely thick and seems more wintery and it’s a lot dressier than most of the Emmy dresses are. I think this would be a lovely Oscar dress, but I’m not a fan of it for the Emmy’s. I’m also not liking her swimsuit tan lines.
Regardless, this dress is nearly perfect.

Photobucket

Claire Danes in Lanvin
If you’re wondering- yes, Claire Danes is pregnant. Now, again, it’s not that I don’t like the dress, but I think she looks extremely underdressed for a red carpet event. I know the dress is Lanvin, which isn’t something you’d just wear around like nothing, but if you really look at the dress, it looks like something she could wear to shop around in during the summer with some strappy sandals. Lovely dress, just not for the red carpet.
P.S. I’d like to note that her hubby, Hugh Dancy looks fabulous… Yummmmmm

Photobucket

Ellen DeGeneres and Portia de Rossi
When I look at this picture I shudder. Everything about this is wrong. Starting with Ellen, the suit seems like it doesn’t fit her at all and it seems extremely heavy for a September event. The jacket seems way too big and the collar sticks out too. The pant leg doesn’t seem to go down far enough, like she had someone tailor this in about 20 seconds. As for Portia, I’m extremely disappointed, she’s one of the world’s most beautiful people, but this pantsuit is ugly as hell and the colour and cut looks terrible. What was she thinking?! Nothing about this picture is okay.

Photobucket

Martha Plimpton (Again, I couldn’t find the designer)
Again, I LOVE this dress. It’s one of my favourite dresses from the Emmy’s, but there are a few things wrong. First off, I think this dress should be worn by someone a bit younger, maybe in their late twenties, this looks like she’s trying to be young and it’s not working. Secondly, like the beautiful Giambattista Valli dress, it seems wintery and a bit intense for the Emmy’s. This is another dress I would have expected to see at the Oscars.

Leave a Reply

